River

You do not wonder why I watch the sunrise

You do not even look at me when I cry

And when I laugh, it is never because of you

For when I left, I left every part of you

 

You broke my heart into a million stars

They scattered across the sky

Now when I look up, I see them glitter

So free and beautiful I am today

 

So now I thank you for your heartache

I must thank you for the pain

For without you, I never would have known

That sadness cries a river, where flowers only remain

Leave a Reply

